Breaking old habits and making new ones.

For the past few years or so, I’ve been meaning to get into blogging. Properly blogging, not just repeating quotes that I like. And every single time, I don’t follow through. There’s always an excuse, a reason not to. Something that I tell myself to make me feel less bad about giving up each time. My intentions are good, if you looked at the pile of abandoned drafts on my drive as evidence. (Although I’d much rather you didn’t; there’s a good reason why they never made it past that stage.)

In case you haven’t worked it out already, this is the habit I’m trying to break.

So after reading this article today, I’ve decided to replace it with the habit of writing every day. Or at least, having a ruddy good go of it. The thing that’s been holding me back, I think, is fear. Fear of being judged, of being absolutely terrible and of having no-one else to blame but myself. Consider this post as day 1 of this challenge. I’m starting off secure in the knowledge that I probably will be terrible. For a bit. And then, hopefully, I’ll get better at it.

Or I might not. Either way, I’ll know that I tried. And surely that’s all that matters in the end, right?

5 thoughts on “Breaking old habits and making new ones.

  1. Bradley August 7, 2015 / 5:32 am

    I love this, ” … not just repeating quotes that I like.”

    I’m so thrilled that you’re going to take up the writing habit at least in part thanks to my post! As I’m sure you know, it feels great that I helped someone get to a next step based on something I did and wrote about.

    I hope just that little action helps you to keep writing as well. Thanks so much for the link and let us know how you’re doing (I hope you join the Facebook group–please say hello to me in there!).

    Like

    • Rebecca W August 7, 2015 / 1:11 pm

      Thanks for the inspiration! It was definitely the kick I needed. And I absolutely will!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. John August 6, 2015 / 9:50 pm

    Hey. I just wanted to say that it’s really cool you’re taking on this challenge. I wish you luck with it, and if you want some extra support from other people who are taking on similar challenges, you’d be more than welcome in our private Facebook group. Cheers!

    Like

    • Rebecca W August 6, 2015 / 9:55 pm

      Thanks for the invite! It might be a good idea to get out of my writing bubble every once in a while! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

