Writer’s unblock?

You should probably know that in the past half hour, I’ve started this blog post about 5 times. Each time, I started writing about something different. Hence why I’m calling this writer’s unblock. It’s not the lack of ideas that’s the problem, it’s the number of them. I’m finding it hard to concentrate and develop a single idea, instead I’m moving between them all and hoping one might stick. Here’s a hint: none of them did. This one isn’t doing too well either, if I’m honest. The joys of a daily writing challenge, right?

So you know what, I think this one is just going to be a free association type thing. I think it, then I’ll write it. To be perfectly honest, that’s how most of my posts work, but generally with those ones I’ve been able to stick to a theme. There are no guarantees here.

I bought a set of watercolour paints today. I use to do it all the time when I was a kid, but I stopped after a while because I was no good at it. But I saw some on sale, and remembered how much I enjoyed it, even if I was terrible. It’s one of the first things I’ve bought in a while with no consideration of anyone else. When I learnt to crochet, and now I’m learning to knit, I always thought about the things that I can make other people. In fact, I’m planning on handmaking as many of my christmas presents this year as possible. (I’d probably better get started on those, really.) Obviously I enjoy making things, and I like giving people things that they’d enjoy using. At the moment I’m also in the process of setting up an Etsy shop, so that’s another consideration for my crafts. But this watercolour set is just for me. For now at least, I’m not planning on doing anything with what I paint. Maybe as some kind of therapy. No pressure. I’d quite like to start an art journal or something. Take a little sketchbook around with me, and just draw what I see. It seems like fun, and a nice way to maybe get good at something that I’m terrible at. Or not as terrible. Whatever.

That would probably be a good idea for me at the moment. I’m having a real crisis of faith in myself today. I’ve lost faith in all of my abilities, even the ones that I was confident with yesterday. It feels rubbish. It probably has something to do with the combination of my upcoming final year at uni, and my upcoming period. Hormones and that. I’ll probably sleep it off and feel better in the morning, at least not as bad. A coffee, a walk, and maybe a bit of time with my new watercolours before work and I should be right as rain.

I feel like this post has definitely scratched some kind of mental itch, and if you got this far, thank you. Thank you for listening when I just needed a moment to vent it out.

One thought on “Writer’s unblock?

  1. williamcharlesbrock August 26, 2015 / 10:59 pm

    Writing is hard. It’s condensing everything you see and hear and do and feel into words on a page.
    It’s an art.
    Do you know the most important thing about art, though?
    Simply doing it.
    And guess what?
    You did that.
    Kudos on making through a tough writing day. We’ve all been there, and we will all be there at some point again.

    Like

Leave a comment